Strictly is back! Well…it starts properly in just over 2 weeks but we know the celebrities, the professionals, and the pairings and I’m excited to see what happens! I’m looking forward to seeing most of the couples as, surprisingly for me, at the moment there aren’t any irritate me!
This post will give my thoughts on the male celebrities and the next one will be on the female celebrities. I had several pairings I desperately wanted to happen and most of them did! Here are my thoughts on them.

Greg Rutherford and Natalie Lowe

Being a huge athletics fan for years, I already support Greg and so I really want him to do well on Strictly! I thought he and Natalie would be good together (mainly because they’re both tall) so hopefully the partnership will work out! Sports stars normally either go far in the competition or are out quickly, but I think Greg has the ability to do well. I wouldn’t be surprised if he made the final, and I have my fingers crossed that he does.

Danny Mac and Oti Mabuse

This was a couple I really wanted paired together and I really feel they could win. Danny maybe isn’t the most well known of the celebrities (except for Hollyoaks viewers) but he comes across well, is quite (*very*) good looking, and seems to be a decent dancer judging by the group dance. Oti is also my favourite female pro dancer and together I’m sure they’ll be an amazing pairing! My incredibly early tip to win.

Judge Robert Rinder and Oksana Platero

Although I wouldn’t have put these two together initially, I think they actually match quite well. Judge Rinder (I can’t get used to calling him Robert..) seems entertaining and not as bad a dancer as I first thought he might be! I don’t know if him and his put downs will grate on viewers after a while though…we shall soon see! It will be interesting to see how he and Oksana do, I can’t see them making the final but they could surprise us!

Ore Oduba and Joanne Clifton

I would have put Oksana or Katya Jones with Ore but this pairing still appears to be promising. Joanne hasn’t had much of a chance to show off her dancing with her previous partner but Ore looks like he could be a good dancer. Ore is also very entertaining and seems nice which could work in his favour. I think they will go far, an outside shot at the final maybe?

Melvin Odoom and Janette Manrara

These ‘pocket rockets’ could do well. Melvin seems to have the moves, and him and Janette make a good match. I can see them doing quite well in Latin dances but I’m not so sure about the Ballroom. I can see them perhaps getting to around halfway, though again, they could surprise me!

Will Young and Karen Clifton

I wasn’t so sure about this pairing, but I can’t do anything to change it! Although Will seems like he could be a good dancer, and although he’s used to performing, I’m not sure he’ll be outgoing and able to act enough. Then again everyone was thinking that about Jay McGuiness last year and he ended up winning so who knows!

Ed Balls and Katya Jones

I still can’t believe Ed Balls is doing Strictly! I wouldn’t have thought he’d be paired with one of the new dancers though as I can’t see him getting past the first week sadly. He seems to have the least amount of dancing skills based from the first group dance, but I have no doubt he’ll give it everything and be very entertaining. I’m also interested to see how Katya (and all the new pros come to that) gets on with coaching and the whole Strictly experience.

Part 2 where I’ll say my thoughts on the female celebrities will come soon 🙂

Photo credit to BBC

