Onto the girls! Following on from my previous blog post on the male celebrities on Strictly, it’s now time for the females.

Claudia Fragapane and AJ Pritchard

This pairing is one I predicted and they’re one of my favourite couples. Claudia’s my favourite female celebrity (she is so tiny!) and her and AJ look like they’ll work well together. I’m sure they’ll be memorable and entertaining in their performances. Claudia’s gymnastics routines on the floor especially show she has flair and can perform, so hopefully she can do so in heels whilst dancing! The two youngest in the competition will, I think, do well and make it to the final for sure.

Louise Redknapp and Kevin Clifton

I’m not really a huge fan of this pairing. Louise Redknapp seems quite bland and I’m not sure people will warm to her. Kevin seems to have always got people who do well and Louise could be an ok dancer. Personally I think they will/should leave in the first half of the competition but you can never tell!

Daisy Lowe and Aljaz Skorjanec

These two make a stunning pairing, and based on the previous success of Abbey Clancy with Aljaz, they should do well. However, I have a feeling that although they’ll be good at Ballroom, Daisy may struggle with the Latin dances. She seems lovely but I can’t see her going the full way, although I think she will get close.

Laura Whitmore and Giovanni Pernice

This couple have taken many of the headlines because of Giovanni’s recent break up with Georgia May Foote, his partner from last year and Laura’s friend. Laura is one of the ‘lesser’ celebrities in terms of people knowing who she is, but I’ve watched her before and she comes across well and I think she’ll gain fans throughout, as her dancing seems promising. I wouldn’t be overly shocked if she left relatively early, but I think if she’s given a chance to win over people she could go far.

Tameka Empson and Gorka Marquez

Initially I was dreading Tameka on Strictly as I’m not a fan of her character Kim on Eastenders (though saying that I don’t really like Eastenders..). She pleasantly surprised me however as she seemed crazy yet not annoying! Her and Gorka are a great match and it will be interesting to see how they progress. They’ll provide fun and entertaining performances throughout so I think they’ll do well!

Lesley Joseph and Anton du Beke

Predictably Anton got paired with the oldest celebrity and as a result they are a ‘joke’ couple. I can’t see them lasting beyond a few weeks but it should be fun while it lasts! If they manage to stay in a while it will get quickly annoying…

Anastacia and Brendan Cole

I don’t really have much opinion on this couple. I don’t especially warm to Brendan and although Anastacia seems enthusiastic and nice, I’m not sure she’ll be a good enough dancer and get enough votes to stay in for long. I don’t think they’ll be really bad, just in relation to everyone else I think they’ll struggle.

Naga Munchetty and Pasha Kovalev

I feel quite bad about this couple because I always forget they’re in the competition! For me, Naga is very forgettable, although for those who watch BBC Breakfast she might be more memorable. I don’t think they’ll be bad at all, I just feel they’ll get lost amongst other bigger characters and so get voted out part way through. However BBC Breakfast people normally do well so I could be very wrong!

So there ends my predictions! A striking thing is there seems to be many more promising dancers than usual, no doubt helped by the younger cast. This will mean good dancers get voted earlier and so it is very hard to predict!
My shouts for the final/who I want to be there are Claudia and AJ, Danny and Oti, and Greg and Natalie. But it is far too close to call!

Photo credit to BBC

