Merry Christmas everyone! Here are my top Christmas films (that I’ve seen!) and everyone should watch them, they’re all good in different ways.

*Edit* I have since seen Arthur Christmas (2011) and ut would definitely place in this list! A great and enjoyable film.

10. Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer: The Movie (1998)

I loved this film as a child and I still like to watch it over Christmas! It’s cheesy but the songs are catchy and there are some good characters. Not the best film ever but great for kids especially!

9. The Apartment (1960)

I guess this isn’t really a Christmas film but was struggling to think of more, it takes place over Christmas sooo I decided it is one! This is a great film but maybe overly long, perfect to watch in an afternoon or evening for something fun to watch.

8. Fred Claus (2007)

I really like this film, mainly because it was an original story! Showing the brother of Santa and his life was really interesting and funny! There are some good moments and some quite deep ones, but it’s good if you want to sit down and watch something light.

7. Love Actually (2003)

A Christmas staple with lots of huge stars in it! The huge ensemble cast means there are inevitably people you care about more than others, but it’s a great watch if you want humour, romance, and a kind of soppy film!

6. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation (1989)

I love this film but it does make me quite stressed. Although everything in it is funny and Chevy Chase is fab, sometimes it gets a bit too over the top, and when things go wrong I feel a bit anxious which is bizarre. Nevertheless a fab film and would recommend if you want a laugh!

5. White Christmas (1954)

A lovely film with some nice songs and dance sequences. The singing and dancing is the main part of it but there is actually a good story at the heart of it and actually made me cry a bit at the end!

4. Home Alone (1990)

A hilarious film that is great for the whole family! Some say it could be too over the top but I don’t think it’s true at all! I laughed the whole way through and this will now be Christmas staple viewing. My full review of it is here.

3. Elf (2003)

I loved this film when I first saw it, and though it’s a little stale after many repeat viewings it is still a great film. Buddy can be too much sometimes, but there is still plenty to like about the film!

2. Miracle on 34th Street (1947)

A stunning film that has a really lovely message and story. You root so much for the characters and it is just a real joy to watch! My full review of it is here.


1. It’s a Wonderful Life (1946)

My absolute favourite film as it makes me cry! This is a film with real heart and you really feel for James Stewart’s character! AlthoughI cried it isn’t actually a sad and depressig film, it shows the value of human contribution to life, and that money etc is secondary to a person’s actions. It is a lovely story and message and is perfect to watch any time of the year but especially Christmas.

Happy Christmas and happy watching!

