This Christmas movie is one of the staples of my family Christmas, mainly because my brother loves it! I enjoy Fred Claus, but the number of times I’ve seen it means it’s a little bit lower on my list as it’s got a little bit stale. I love the story and the characters, I just probably need a break from seeing it to appreciate it again!

A few years ago I did rank Fred Claus in my top ten Christmas films, so if you’ve never seen it before it’s definitely worth a watch!

Fred being chased by Father Christmases
Dashing through the snow…

Plot Summary

In this film, we see the other side of Santa (or Nicholas), as we see him growing up with his elder brother- Frederick. We see the beginnings of Nick becoming Father Christmas, whilst Fred comes to resent Nick  more and more.

The film then goes to present day, where Fred (Vince Vaughn) works as a repossession agent and hates anything to do with Christmas (understandably). Fred has a strained relationship with his girlfriend Wanda (Rachel Weisz) and has virtually adopted an orphan boy Sam/Slam. Fred ends up getting arrested and needs to get bail money, so who does he ask but his generous brother Nick/Santa(Paul Giamatti)! Nick agrees, and agrees to lend Fred some money if Fred comes up to the North Pole to work for it.

Fred dancing in elf workshop
Not what Santa had in mind!

Willie the elf (John Michael Higgins) collects Fred and takes him to the North Pole. Meanwhile, the efficiency of the running of the North Pole is being examined by Clyde Northcut, who is looking for any excuse to shut the whole operation down. Fred’s presence in Santa’s workshop causes chaos which gives Northcut an excuse to note down strikes (3 and it’s over). This causes panic family meetings between Nick, Fred, their partners, and their parents which don’t have much success.

Nick has also become injured, meaning he can’t deliver the presents. Just as it seems Christmas is over (as only a Claus can deliver the presents), Fred turns up to save the day! Northcut is won round and they all live happily ever after.

Fred and Willie sat at the bar
An unlikely couple

Thoughts

Overall I really enjoy this film and when I first saw it, it was quite refreshing to have Santa as a real person, with a real family and real family problems! I think all the characters are likeable. None of them are perfect but they all learn from each other which is how life works! I particularly liked how Fred showed Nick that “naughty” kids aren’t born bad, they often are just in bad situations. I don’t agree with him that every kid is good and that there are no naughty kids at all, but I liked the message!

Santa/Nick and Fred at the dinner table
Happy families

Even though Fred was pretty horrible at the beginning, seeing how he was always compared negatively to Nick, you can understand why he felt and acted as he did. But seeing the family all build bridges and get along better was perfect and what Christmas is all about! Apart from presents and food of course…

Favourite Scene

Hands down my favourite bit of the film! Loved it the first time I saw Fred Claus, and still laugh watching it now!

Favourite Character

Mrs Claus and Santa/Nick
Yes dear…

Of course I like Fred, and this film’s Santa is probably my favourite movie version of Santa I’ve seen! But I also have to say I like Mrs Claus! She is basically the person that keeps things together, and she is definitely not as naïve as Nick! Even when she doesn’t speak, her faces make her feelings very clear! Miranda Richardson played her brilliantly.

Favourite Quote

Fred: I don’t hate you Nick. I just wish you’d never been born.

Nick: It has been 100 years since you spoke to mum…

Fred: For good reason!

Fred (about Nick): Well I think it’s absolutely amazing that he can fly around to a million houses in 1 night, breaking and entering, stealing all the food, eating the little kids’ cookies…I get jacked just talking about it! Don’t you guys feel it?

Final Thoughts

Overall I think Fred Claus is a fab Christmas film. It isn’t an overly sentimental story, just a nice one where everyone learns from each other, and there are a lot of laughs along the way! The cast is great and make all the characters likeable/relatable/funny. The only reason I haven’t put it higher on my list is because I have seen it so. many. times.!